Posted by: Ele Quigan | May 8, 2010

‘One day’, David Nicholls

It’s been a while since I read a book that I really couldn’t put down (well actually it was Markus Zusak’s ‘The book thief’ that I read on a plane trip to Marseille – but that was months ago and another book review altogether…) so I was pleasantly surprised to find one again.

Rather than a recommendation, I chose this book to read by scanning the most popular books on amazon, 137 5star reviews can’t be wrong!

In a nutshell it’s similar in writing style to Tony Parsons ‘Man and Boy’ and one of my personal faves Nick Hornby – however it has another layer of trueism that I haven’t found in any of their works.

I ploughed through the book in two days, crying my eyes out mid-novel at about 11pm during a particularly poignant bit.  It’s very good, fairly honest (albiet a little unbeliveable) and I really enjoyed it.  A welcome break from all the non-fiction I had been reading of late.

The general view is that it’s a ‘labour boom years novel’ – however not being English I can see parallels from home in it’s time period as well (apart from the buckets of high quality cocaine that one of the main characters insufflates…) and in general the apathetic view of ‘What do I do know’ once graduation is over.  Particularly with an arts degree.

The characters are believeable, and the honesty of how we can be cruel but kind to each other (or the fact that guys can miss the cue that his best friend has been in love with him for years, and that parading them in front of her makes her die a little more inside each time) is more realistic than anything I’ve read in a while.

Will be interesting to see if his other novels are as good, and if you have read One Day I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on it…

Responses

  1. […] the gloriousness of ‘One Day’ I was expecting complex characters, multi-layered humour, dark moments and lighter celebrations, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

