Posted by: Ele Quigan | November 7, 2010

Hans Herzog 2005 Pinot Noir

Hans Herzog 2005 Pinot Noir

Hans Herzog 2005 Pinot Noir


It’s been a while since a wine (whine) post, so thought after having a glorious bottle of Hans Herzog 2005 Pinot I should probably do a write up on it!

Pinot Noir hasn’t always been my favourite wine, I often find them too acidic, too young, too expensive to find a decent one that’s going to be good value for money. My usual default is for something italian or spanish, or even Argentinian or Chilean…

We wandered into our favourite wine store (Bottle Apostle) and as soon as I saw it, I knew that was the perfect wine to go with our dinner. (Moroccan lamb – a fantastic, easy and delicious Jamie Oliver recipe that includes making the rub from scratch)

While I don’t have a decanter over here, I opened the wine about 20 minutes before I served it to let it air slightly (again, one of my issues with Pinot Noir, is ‘barnyardiness’. While a positive trait in some wines, and a delicate part of the complexity in others, I still don’t really enjoy it…)

So what about the wine?

One of the better bottles of wine I’ve had in a very long time.

It was delicate, silky, I found it beautifully balanced. Not aggressive, not green or phenolic (bless the fact that you can actually buy wines with some age on them over here…) just in some senses absolutely glorious.

And the best part? it was £25. Seriously. Back home – this would be probably between $80 and $100 – possibly more given its age, and definitely twice that in a restaurant… I couldn’t quite believe it myself, and want to send the other half back to buy at least another few bottles to get into the spirit of the silly season! And besides, our wine rack is currently empty…

Leave a Reply

Categories

