Posted by: Ele Quigan | December 28, 2011

‘Game of Thrones’ well, not just the first one. George R.R. Martin

Okay. I got into the first one, cool wolves. Cool dragons. Cool idea of how to make an interesting fantasy story.

Then people started dying.

And then I got to the second book, and skimmed it as much as I could. Why? I just couldn’t be bothered with the inherent whining of some characters. I got bored with some of the storylines.

I don’t know if this was because my limited attention span during some fairly busy periods at work, or whether I just couldn’t be bothered with the ‘epicness’ of the intertwined threads – but I just found so many of them frustrating.

So I’ve not gone on to finish the series, for starters so many people spoiled a lot of the storylines on Facebook, and I feel I’d get more out of other books for my time. And all the character killing? Bleak bleak bleak. I really don’t want to be depressed for 6 months while I plough through the series. I didn’t finish ‘The Road’ for this reason, and I’m really not bothered by this series either.

Here’s a quote from an Amazon * (yes that’s ONE star) that pretty much sums up how I feel about it.

This was a big dissapointment after all the positive reviews that I read. What exactly was the point of this book?
Was it to prove that even good people are compromised in certain circumstances? If so then Martin achieved his purpose but I found none of the characters worthy of redemption and, as a result, was unable to finish it.

I read fantasy as an avenue of escape. There was no escape here as this book was simply depressing.

gah. Give me a bit of Pug and Thomas or Lyra and Will over this any day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

