Posted by: Ele Quigan | December 28, 2011

‘The Secret Life of Bees’ – Sue Monk Kidd

What better way to spend boxing day, particularly over here in the UK where the weather is grey (tho not really cold) than tucked up on the couch with a good box.

It bought quite a few books before xmas, and this one had stuck out (probably from the internet meme “OMG BEEEEEEeeeeeeeeesss” more than I’d like to admit) but popped up a couple of times in ‘good to read’ lists and we I guess well voted.

It’s an older book (therefore cheap!) with a movie that followed closely after it. The best thing I can compare it to is ‘The Help’ written during a similar period in the southern states of America, segregation and racism key to the thread of the novel.

I could go on about the plot, but that’s not really why I think I enjoyed this book, well – enjoy is the wrong word. I guess provoked a reaction may be better? Similar to the Lacuna, last chapter of the book, I cried the entire way through and for about 30 mins afterwards.

I don’t quite know why, there were questions unanswered, and it should have felt a bit fake and too much of a twee story? I don’t know, but it definitely made me reflect upon my own life and maybe what I would have don in similar situations. Now boxing day is over – it’s out of my head, and I no longer find the content as sad, but I guess I’m still a little reflective on the content, maybe slightly bitter or something.

I would recommend it for a holiday read, something that can be finished in a sitting, and I do think it’s a bit more of a ‘young adult’ novel than the Help.

Leave a Reply

Categories

