Posted by: Ele Quigan | May 13, 2012

‘Mockingjay’ Suzanne Collins

Unsurprisingly, I’ve been putting off my final review for this. The book/trilogy had a far more wide reaching effect on me than I’m probably happy to admit, and has caused me to look back on our current world and state of affairs with narrowed eyes, almost in disbelief of where things seem to be heading.

So if hunger games 2 was essentially ‘back in the ring’ then hunger games 3 is the massive rebellion that had been bubbling since the first book.

It’s almost like a novel designed to bring the horror of war, and PSTD to the forefront. The frustration between a different ethos across strategy teams, the concept of collateral damage, while not a text book anti-war novel I still kinda felt it was.

I hate spoilers, so I kinda feel like I shouldn’t give the game away – but I guess I was surprised at where my own loyalties lay, who I felt I wanted to support and why I felt their actions were justified. Which of course when you realise what happens is never a nice feeling when the ‘collateral damage’ caused by those you support killed women and children… Yes, dark – but this whole novel is dark. And in the background of Syria, Sudan, the Mexican drug crisis – suddenly it doesn’t feel like far far away fiction anymore.

I remember as a kid being terrified of war, I saw visions of that horrible scene from Terminator 2 where the nuclear bomb goes off for years. When the first Iraq conflict happened I didn’t sleep for a few weeks, 9/11 – I still remember then being afraid of the US kicking off WWIII. So what now? I’m not really sure whether I believe we’re definitely on this path, but there’s enough in the media (propaganda likely) to almost convince me otherwise.

I guess I’m worried about where my alliances would sit? I have enough trouble working out how I feel about the Israeli/Palestinian conflict to have a well thought out opinion. And what else is simmering in the back of my mind?

The Olympics.

It’s less than a mile from my house. The biggest even the UK has seen in ages, and while I believe that it’s a massive white elephant and will cost the UK FAR more than it will return, suddenly I feel we’re a target. Maybe I should just get out of the city a bit more, but come July I really hope I’m not freaking out too much…

Leave a Reply

Categories

