Posted by: Ele Quigan | October 14, 2012

Bossy Pants – Tina Fey

I totally forgot that I’d read this a few weeks back, and randomly picked up the book after cleaning up my room this morning. Obviously a book of great impact then no?

I guess similar to Caitlin Moran. Life anecdotes about a female non-conformist (I hesitate in this case to say feminist? not sure why) in essentially a male-dominated world.

But for me there’s always been something different about Tina.

I think Mean Girls is the greatest high school movie of my generation (yes, better than High School Musical you millennials). It’s also one of the most insightful, well-written comedies of my generation (yes, better than ALL the American Pie movies…). I haven’t watched 30 Rock a lot, but the occasional times I do, I’m always surprised by its wit, and hilarity (of course with the total understanding that there’s a team of writers churning out the best quality jokes).

It’s almost sad that Tina was almost an unknown until the infamous ‘I can see Russia from my house’ take on Sarah Palin. There’s so much more to her than that! I have to say tho – the ‘women aren’t funny’ comment gets me more frustrated than anything. I mean the book was relatively interesting in a sense that it explained a lot of her background, how she got into theatre, and meeting interesting people along the way – but still the fact that ‘women being funny’ is still so often questioned (check out the comments after any review of a Sarah Millican performance for example) feels prevalent for some reason right throughout the book.

It’s an easy read (I actually read it while sitting in an airport waiting for my flight back to London. Finished it before I even got on the plane *sigh*) and yeah definitely has some HAHAHA moments, (or more of a chuffle as well), worth a read – but nothing too mind blowing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

