Posted by: Ele Quigan | April 12, 2013

Corbieres M&S “red”

CorbieresMy last two Friday’s have been uneventful. Quiet nights at home on the couch, primarily due to an overwhelming feeling of averageness, for which I blame both the weather, a hangover, and summer/autumn/winter cold. On nights like this, when all you want to do is put your feet up and watch total trash on the telly, convenience is key.

M&S delivers the best kind of convenience – healthy or unhealthy options (though lets be honest, who wants to eat healthy when they’re feeling like rubbish) like easy heat up lasagne, a bottle of wine for sub £10 and good lord how bout a chocolate mousse to really top it all off.

We don’t really get convenience food in NZ, mostly because it’s frowned upon (you should have seen my face when someone explained to me what Iceland was), I’d even go out on a limb and suggest that we eat a bit healthier back home.

But that’s totally beside the point.

Tonight, with lasagne in tow, I had a bottle of the most generic tasting red wine I think there is. It’s a little dry, not too much mouthfeel, not really agressive or tannic/phenolic – but also really totally fricking boring. There’s nothing to it, I can’t even complain too much about it as I don’t know what I’d be complaining about exactly? One of those haven’t quite got my finger on it but it’s really annoying me moments. So yes boring, just like my Friday night, however I can guarantee within the next 6 months there’s going to be another hungover/busy/late weeknight where this wine finds itself into my 7 items or less basket primarily because of its inoffensiveness.

Sub £10 quid, likely to buy again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

