Posted by: Ele Quigan | January 11, 2014

Them – Jon Ronson

Making the most of the Amazon £0.99 sale, I picked this up fairly cheaply over xmas.  After enjoying his ‘The Psychopath test’ I thought I was SURE to enjoy this one!

I started it off the back of another sleepless night, I’m trying to get through a history of India at 600 pages (I’m 38% of the way through, it’s driving me mental), 40 minutes into this I was already over 20% through it, slightly frustrating as I told myself as soon as I finished it I was back to ploughing through getting my head around academic writing and unnecessary BIG WORDS…

So this, a light fluffy read about conspiracy theories, was a nice detachment.

But it feels like that – fluffy.  It’s weird, it should have had more impact, wow, “oh my gosh this man hung out with the Ku Klux Klan” or ” wow Omar Bakri Muhammad is a bit off his rocker” but I think I’ve been reading off the basis of the NSA releases, the fact we are all watched in our behaviour on and off line, so it wasn’t as much of a surprise as what it might have been.

Bilderberg sounds logical to me – but with the benefit of hindsight, it’s not like it stopped the financial crisis (the conspiracy theorist in me says maybe they architected it?!).  There’s more to it in some of the shorter parts such as looking at Ruby Ridge but these feel smaller in comparison say to some other conspiracy elements.  The whole Lizard people ideal is never really explained, I guess that’s it Jon Ronson isn’t there to expose what these conspiracy theories are, only to observe?

The book ends with Bohemian Grove which sounds like some kind of awkwardly misogynistic mens club, or an old school American fraternity – complete with traditions and hazing ceremonies.  

Are there people in power that attend these things?  Yes.  Are they going to talk about world/politics/economies/wars?  Yes.  Due to some of these conversations are people going to be influenced by conversation trends?  Yes.  Is there some massive underlying conspiracy to change the world a particular way (aka New World Order that kept coming up in the book)?  I doubt it. 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

